//
you're reading...
Writing

Starting the climb

I’ve been writing for years, professionally and for pleasure. It’s been a good ride. I’ve written and published articles, short stories, and poems in magazines, on the web, and in newspapers. In addition, working in development for City Gospel Mission, CityCURE and elsewhere as a freelancer has allowed me the opportunity to write appeal letters, thank-you letters, newsletters, radio spots, press releases, a video script, speeches, and more.

Now I’m writing a novel…finally. It took a long time to get here, to the foot of the mountain. I think that’s one reason why I hadn’t started one (or gotten much beyond idea and a few pages). I see it as a mountain, one which will take months (maybe years) to climb. That’s been a daunting thought, one that has held me back.

I am daunted no more. I have come to a revelation: through all my writing experiences, a novel has been something I’ve been afraid to write, and a novel has been the one thing I have always wanted to write. Fear is powerful. It can kill so much of your life…over the years, I have let it kill my dream of being a novelist. No more! To quote Dr. Frankenstein, “It’s alive!!!”

Starting in January of this year, I began the work. How do you write a novel? The same way you climb a mountain, or overcome a fear, or quit smoking: one step at a time. I’ve decided to chronicle my journey here, mostly for my own benefit. If anyone else gets anything out of this journal, that’s awesome. If not, that’s okay too. Stop back if you like, and I’ll tell you how the climb is progressing. Thanks for joining me on the adventure.

About Wes

Published writer, editor, ghostwriter, business blogging services. Working on a mystery novel.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Starting the climb

  1. Thanks, Jeanette. Your encouragment is much appreciated.

    Posted by Wes | March 22, 2010, 10:16 AM
  2. I’m looking forward to following along on this journey of yours. My son is a writer and this may give us ideas on getting him moving along too.

    Posted by Jeanette | March 22, 2010, 9:29 AM

Leave a Reply

