//
you're reading...
Writing

Keep on keepin’ on…

I have a writer friend who posted on her Facebook status that she had written ten pages that day. I applauded her for that, and was momentarily disheartened about the pace of my own writing.

But only for a moment. I realize that reality is a matter of perspective, and I need to have a healthy perspective about how my own writing process is, uh, proceeding.

She’s sold a few books, and I don’t know if she still has a day job. I do have a day job, and though I’ve been published, this is my first book. As I said in a previous post, the journey to finishing it is like climbing a mountain. It’s a long way to the top if you wanna rock and roll, and it’s a long road to the end of this book.

I have to be at work at 8. When I get home, I typically prefer to spend time with my wife and of course the dogs need attention, the trash needs to go out, etc. There’s a lot of et cetera in everyone’s life. So when I started this book, I decided I would get up at 5:30 am to write. I get at least a half hour a day at the page, sometimes more. I’ve figured at this pace, it will take me at least two years to write this thing.

I can’t be discouraged about that. Well, I could, but what’s the point? I’ve spent enough time not writing a book to lament how long it will take. The important thing is that every day, every time I sit in the seat and show up at the page, I am progressing. I celebrate every word, every paragraph, every page I accomplish.

I am my most important cheerleader. I love encouragement from others (who doesn’t?) but I have found taking responsibility for writing this book involves taking responsibility for the encouragement that keeps me writing.

And now, back to the book. Yay, me!

About Wes

Published writer, editor, ghostwriter, business blogging services. Working on a mystery novel.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a comment