//
you're reading...
Writing

Runnin’ with the (un)Pack(ing)

Move…over.

And if you need to walk from the office to the bedroom or through the living room to the kitchen in our new place, you will also have to move over…because you’ll have to manuever around the boxes upon boxes (upon other boxes).

So no writing on my novel this week. It’s all about the move. As the move and the week have worn on, I have been worn out. I’d love to be thinking of my characters, what they are doing, who they need to see, and who will be the next suspect or dead body sacrificed to the plot. For a time I suspected I would be the next dead body, but fortunately, I had sense enough to rest (a little) and recover (a lot).

I am now firmly adrift in the fresh tide of old boxes and different places to put them. In my new home, I have a lifetime of accumulated items to unpack. I am pulling it all out of the boxes, setting it all out in the light, and seeing how it all fits best in the context of the new apartment around it.

It’s similar to writing my book. I pull ideas and sentences out of the boxes that dwell in my mind. I set them out on the page, and see how it all fits best in the context of the story around it. I have a lifetime of accumulated learnings I can unpack….memories, experiences, smells, sounds, what it’s like to attend Waffle House University…

Okay, I probably won’t be using the Waffle House U. information in my book. I’ve tried hard to repress that particular memory…but I can still say “Double quarter cheese plate on two like one two scrambled cheese plates make one scattered smothered and covered wheat dry pecan waffle sausage on two” like I really mean it, and I retain a vague memory of the “Nine Steps of Service.”

I digress…insert shudder here. Moving on…

In the unpacking phase of moving to a new place, having moved your boxes to the room they may (or may not) belong, you reach into a box, grab an item, and the first thing you think is “Where does this go?” Then you put it where you think it best fits. After a time, your boxes are unpacked and your home is filled with what you’ve chosen to display, file, or fill drawers.

In writing my book, I’m unpacking what I’ve accumulated through the course of my life. Whether I’m writing a new scene or deciding on a new character trait, I look into my stored and boxed-up memories and experiences (sans the Waffle House U. information). I pull out the information needed to fill the scene (or update the character, or move the action) and put it where I think it best fits…somewhere on the page.

As I unpack my boxes, if I find it works better to have that lamp tucked into that corner rather than sitting on the mantle, I can move it. Same with the book. If I find a piece of writing I like, but it works better to move it to another paragraph or chapter, I can move it.

For now, I think I’ll just leave the accumulation in the house and in the book wherever it happens to sit. Whether it be words or furniture or boxes of stuff, I am done moving. Think I’ll take a break and head to the nearest Waffle House for a set of over medium sausage plate with wheat. Scattered, smothered, and covered, of course.

About Wes

Published writer, editor, ghostwriter, business blogging services. Working on a mystery novel.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

